A Word of Advice: Airports

Almost every time I fly, I have to stop at one of the little airport bookshops. Most of the time, I bring plenty of books on trips and can avoid the temptation of buying new books, but sometimes, I’m not prepared, or I see a book that I feel like I just have to have. So, I buy a book at an airport. No matter how good I think the book will be, it never ends well.

With one exception, I have never enjoyed a book I bought at an airport. I’ve read a mystery that couldn’t seem to decide who the perpetrator was. Another time, I read a young adult sci-fi where every character had to have a drug problem; it was a bit much. The only time buying a book at an airport turned out okay was when I stuck strictly to authors I had already read and liked. Every other time, I’ve ended up with books I don’t want to finish.

The problem with airports is the rush. Unlike proper bookstores, where you can browse as long as you like, in airports, you don’t have time to properly look at and consider books unless you have a really long layover. This lack of time leads to rushed book-buying decisions and lack-luster books.

Don’t buy books in airports. It doesn’t end well.

Advertisements

Book Review: Good Omens

I want to start off this blog by reviewing my favorite book, Good Omens. I read this book for the first time last year and fell in love with it.

Title: Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Author(s): Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Genre(s): Fantasy, Humor

Summary: The end of the world is coming, and the armies of Heaven and Hell are preparing for the fulfillment of the Divine Plan. Until everything goes sideways. The angel and demon stationed on Earth defect to protect their new home, a witch teams up with a witchfinder to stop the coming apocalypse, and someone lost the Antichrist.

Rating: 10/10

This is the single greatest book I have ever read. The characters are endearing and just a little bit ridiculous, and the pacing is masterful, with a good combination of tension and jokes. The character list alone is a masterpiece. I recommend this book for fans of Terry Pratchett or Supernatural.